Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Honor Graduates


  1. Home

Each year FLETC grants the Honor Graduate award to the basic training graduate, from eligible programs, based upon three composites: highest academic average; high levels of proficiency in firearms; and surpassing physical fitness.

FLETC will continue the tradition of adding the Honor Graduate’s names to the display located in the Coverdell Classroom Building.

Fiscal Year 2020 and 2021 Honor Graduates

Ranger Sean Nelb, 2019 FLETC Honor Graduate (LEFT) and Ranger Dillon O’Brien, 2020 FLETC Honor Graduate (RIGHT) display their honor graduate award certificates after receiving during the ceremony held November 30, 2021, at FLETC. (Photo by Brandon Spragins, FLETC/OPA)

Previous Year Awardees

Year Recipient  Agency
2022 Winner wishes to remain anonymous. U.S. Diplomatic Security Service
2021 Winner wishes to remain anonymous. U.S. Homeland Security Investigations
2020 Dillon O’Brien U.S. National Park Services
2019 Sean Nelb U.S. National Park Services
2018 Karen Brown U.S. National Security Agency
2017 Shawn Mayer U.S. National Security Agency
2016 Jermemy M. Miles  U.S. Diplomatic Security Service
2015 Andrew M. Baker U.S. Secret Service 
2014 Jacob Banda U.S. Air Force Office of Special Investigations
2013 Michael R. Bransford U.S. National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
2012 Jesse M. Lindgren U.S. Marshals Service
2011 Anthony M. Loring U.S. Central Intelligence Agency 
2010  Eric M. Heiple U.S. Secret Service 
2009 Eric S. Wadsworth Federal Emergency Management Agency OS 
2008 John M. Carpenter U.S. Air Force Office of Special Investigations
2007 Georg A. Wagner  U.S. Secret Service
2006 Shane L. Dixon U.S. Diplomatic Security Service
2005 Victoria M. Anzaldua U.S. Diplomatic Security Service
2004 Daniel S. Rothman U.S. Customs and Border Protection
2003 Edward J. Visnovske U.S. National Park Services
2002 Andrew B. Clapp U.S. Coast Guard 
2001 Derek J. Velasco U.S. Central Intelligence Agency
2000 James J. Cancannon U.S. Secret Service 
1999 Philippe G. Furstenberg U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Diplomatic Security
1998 Terry J. Pfeifer  U.S. General Service Administration-Office of Inspector General 
1997 Demetrius Metz U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
1996 Todd E. Schumacher U.S. Secret Service -Uniform Division
1995 Dean P. Eisberg U.S. Customs Service
1994 John A. Carper  U.S. Department of Defense Office of Inspector General
1993 Robert G. MacQueen U.S. Secret Service
1992 Jay D. Duckens U.S. Customs Service
1991 Domenic E. Colameta U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Inspector General
1990 Richard L. Burton U.S. Capitol Police


Aubrey A. "Tex" Gunnels

April 20, 1918 - September 24, 2011

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers Honor Graduate of the Year award momento (a handgun) is made possible through a gift from Aubrey A. “Tex” Gunnels, former Clerk of the United States House of Representatives, Committee on Appropriations, Financial Services and General Government Subcommittee. At Mr. Gunnels’ request, this award is dedicated to the memory of all FLETC graduates who have died in the line of duty. The FLETC is most grateful to the Gunnels Family Trust for continuing Tex’s legacy by providing the funds for the annual award.