Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FLETC Informer Webinar Series Schedule

The Informer Webinar Series educates the viewer on relevant legal topics.

 

FLETC Informer Webinar Schedule – November 2020

 

  1. Aerial Surveillance Operations and the Fourth Amendment (1-hour)

            Presented by Arie Schaap, Attorney-Advisor/Senior Instructor, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers, Artesia, New Mexico.

            This presentation will look at the issue of surveillance and what may constitute a violation of the Fourth Amendment. Among the cases that will be examined is the recent Federal District Court of Maryland decision in Leaders of a Beautiful Struggle v. Baltimore Police Department where the court denied the plaintiff’s request for a preliminary injunction to prevent the Baltimore Police Department from implementing an aerial surveillance   operation pilot program. We will also examine the 2018 Supreme Court decision Carpenter v. United States and compare these two areas of law.

  •  Wednesday, November 4, 2020: 3 p.m. Eastern / 2 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Mountain /12 p.m. Pacific

To participate in this webinar, join us at: https://share.dhs.gov/nov/    


  1. Government Workplace Searches (1-hour)

Presented by John Besselman, Senior Advisor for Training, Office of Chief Counsel, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers, Glynco, Georgia.

 

This webinar will examine how public employees might create a Reasonable Expectation of Privacy in their workplaces (computers, cars, offices, etc.), and, if so, how the government can intrude on that REP.  This course is recommended for government supervisors, the IG community, and those whose duties include internal investigations.

  • Thursday, November 5, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.  Eastern / 1:30 p.m. Central / 12:30 p.m. Mountain / 11:30 a.m. Pacific  

To participate in this webinar: https://share.dhs.gov/govtworksearch/


  1. Kalkines and Garrity Overview (1-hour)

Presented by John Besselman, Senior Advisor for Training, Office of Chief Counsel, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers, Glynco, Georgia.

 

This webinar will examine these two important cases and how they affect the government's ability to obtain statements from its employees that may be suspected of criminal activity. 

  • Monday, November 16, 2020:  2:30 p.m. Eastern / 1:30 p.m. Central / 12:30 p.m. Mountain / 11:30 a.m. Pacific

To participate in this webinar:  https://share.dhs.gov/fletclgd0124/