US flag   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

FLETC Hosts Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony

For Immediate Release
May 19, 2009

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC) held its 24nd annual ceremony on May 19 honoring those FLETC basic graduates who have lost their lives in the performance of duty. The ceremony is a joint observance with other area law enforcement agencies in southeast Georgia, including Brunswick Police Department, Glynn County Police Department and Sheriff’s Office, and Georgia State Patrol. 

Keynote speaker Chief David V. Aguilar, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Border Patrol noted, “There is commonality we must not forget among these men and women that we honor today; that regardless of where they were born, raised, and bred, they were instilled with a recognition to serve, to serve for the greater good, and prepared to give their all for their fellow man.”

FLETC Director Connie L. Patrick introduced Chief Aguilar before the packed auditorium of FLETC and Partner Agency staff and students. The ceremony was also attended by several of the family members of fallen Border Patrol agents. During her remarks, she explained that the families of law enforcement officers also become part of the larger law enforcement family. "This day is for them; they need to know that they are appreciated for what their family members did for our country,” said Patrick.

The memorial ceremony included the reading of the FLETC graduates honor roll of names by Assistant Director Michael R. Hanneld. Georgia State Patrol-Brunswick Post Commander William D. Lee, Jr. read the State and Local agencies’ honor roll. Additionally, the service included vocal presentations, posting of the Colors, a ceremonial wreath placing, and the playing of Taps. FLETC staff, representatives from the agencies with fallen officers in 2008, and the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Border Patrol Academy and Field Operations Academy Honor Guard participated in this annual ceremony.

This year, four names were added, bringing the total to 170 since the FLETC’s creation in 1970:  Luis A. Aguilar and Jarod C. Dittman, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Border Patrol; Kristine M. Fairbanks, U.S. Forest Service; and Jose V. Rivera, Federal Bureau of Prisons. For further information and a full listing of the FLETC Graduates Memorial, visit FLETC Graduates Memorial.